13
Nov
09

Another rat abandoning this sinking ship

So, I’m off. Long-time readers of this blog might recall a post on Brian Lenihan that I ended by threatening to leave the country. Well, I’m following through on that threat. I’ve been offered a job abroad and I’ve decided to accept it.

A couple of months ago I posted about being offered a job and being told later I wasn’t getting it. It’s this job I’m for which I’m headed. I’ve avoided posting further on this as I didn’t want to jinx it, but I guess I’m safe enough at this stage. The explanation I received on why I was briefly told I’m not getting the job was, frankly, weird, something about mistaking me for English and not wanting to hire an English person. One can be forgiven for thinking something fishy is going on. However, I’ve checked things as much as it is possible to check these things. I’ve talked to embassy people and the agent with whom I arranged the job, and I’ve comfirmed separately that the company exists. I can be certain that the offer is legit and there is an actual job waiting for me.

And so I’m off. The visa is sorted and the plane-ticket is bought, and I’m leaving this weekend. I’m pretty much going as far as I can without resorting to the Australia option (which is good as I can’t imagine a fate worse than living in Australia). I’m leaving behind Ireland and unemployment, and probably this blog. It’s not that I’m abandoning blogging, I’ve really enjoyed it and I have a couple of ideas for new blogs I’d like to try out, but I don’t see myself updating The Unemployed Blog much longer. I suppose I could do an ex-pat Irishman’s blog, but it’s not likely. In all honesty, I’ve become quite bored of personal blogging in the last few months.

I’ll be fleshing out a few concepts due course, and there’ll be a few more updates here, just to let regular readers know what’s happening. In the meantime, if anyone’s passing through South Korea you can stay in my house.

6 Responses to “Another rat abandoning this sinking ship”


  1. November 14, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Good Luck D! And let us know when the next blog appears where ever!

  2. November 14, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Good luck on your new adventure, sir.

  3. November 16, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Good luck out there. You’ll have a ball, and keep in contact, or at least update here where you’ve started blogging again so we can all catch up.

  4. 4 The Unemployed Blog
    November 17, 2009 at 3:02 am

    Thanks guys, and thanks also for your comments on all those previous posts. I was glad to know someone was paying attention.

  5. November 18, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Excellent news that you’ve found a job, hope it all works out for you.


Leave a Reply

