02
Nov
09

Gifted Web Writers

Has anyone heard of this outfit? I’m wondering if they contacted anyone else. They emailed me yesterday to tell me that this blog and my writing style meets with their “quality guidelines”, and therefore want to include me in their program and pay me for my posts.

Now if it were simply spam I wouldn’t take any notice, but it’s not. These guys went through some of my recent posts and told me which ones they liked. And it’s not some randomly acquired trickery with bots either; they were able to distinguish between posts that are lengthy rants rather that pointless Youtube links or whatever. This is not the usual $1,000,000 deal from the Nigerian Department of Finance or notice that my email address has won a global lottery. Somebody has taken the time to research me personally and offer me money. They haven’t asked for bank details, but I’m sure that will be the primary request following any follow-up emails.

There is, of course, the possibility that I’m being paranoid, and that this is a legit offer, but I’m not convinced. The email directed me to their website for more information, but all it contains is an “under construction” homepage and a postal address in Israel. Also, this may be unconnected, but at least one person has found this blog through a websearch of my email address.

So, has the Gifted Web Writers program contacted anyone else? Does anybody have any more information on this? Obviously I’m not going to be availing of the offer. If it is legit then they’re going about it in a very dubious manner.

EDIT: ‘Cause I was asked for it.

Dear Damien,

As part of expanding our “Gifted Web Writers” program, we search the net for high quality blogs and gifted web writers. I’ve visited your website and read some of your recent posts, including “The poor farmer”.

Damien, you definitely have a unique and interesting writing style and an intriguing high quality blog. Since you and your blog meet our quality guidelines, we would like to offer you to join our unique and highly rewarding program.

About the program –

The program links our customers with gifted writers like you and pays them for writing short articles. You already do that, so I’m sure you will be happy to be rewarded for your talent. Our program pays at least 15 USD for each article you write, with options for additional payments. We do not ask nor expect you to write ads; rather, we give you complete writing freedom and appreciate your creativity and imagination.

I hope that you find the concept of our program interesting, and would be happy to provide you more information about it. Please email me back and in the mean time feel free to visit our website http://www.giftedwebwriters.com.

If this email does not interest you, I apologize and I will not contact you again.

Sincerely,

9 Responses to “Gifted Web Writers”


  1. November 3, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Seems really fishy. Looks like one of those personal marketing scams. And what’s weird is, you’re the second hit on Google when you search their name. Wouldn’t they have other people if they were legit?

  2. 2 stu
    November 3, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Any chance of posting the actual mail? this stuff fascinates me, in fact any scoby git that spends time and effort, and sometimes even talent, in attempting to really fuck over strangers fascinates me. its a value system train-crash thing.

    • 3 The Unemployed Blog
      November 3, 2009 at 11:44 pm

      What a peculiar interest. No worse than mine, I suppose. I tell you what, stu, I’ll include the email in an edit of the post.

  3. November 5, 2009 at 5:44 am

    I got this same email today, except they wanted me to write about a “new cancer treatment” Huh? I write a humor blog. I’ve decided to ignore it…

  4. November 5, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    It seems kinda fishy to me. Most legitimate outfits, usually post their job openings on odesk and elance websites. I should know, because I have been unsuccessful in my attempts to get a writing gig with them….lol. I am paranoid like you, when it comes to being randomly contacted by email.

  5. November 12, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Like many of you, I was suspicious of receiving that email from Gifted Web Writers also. I was told with my first project, I would be paid $15.00 and then an additional $3.00 from then on. So, I took a chance…I decided I would do the first project. I did the entire job in about 30 minutes. I posted and notified GGW that I was finished. They checked for verification and, surprise, surprise, they deposited $15.00 to my paypal account. As I was typing this, they just sent me my second project which will be for $18.00. But, I will not be paid for it until the first of the month from now on. The money will accumulate from each project I do until the end of the month. I think that first payment was to let me know they were legit.

    Now, things may change over the course of the next few weeks. I don’t know. I have been burned by online pay for posts on my blog before. ScribeFire QuickAds still owes me over $80.00 which I will never see since they went belly up. I do advise you that once you are accepted to change your password on your paypal account (or whatever online payment service you use) just to be on the safe side. I did this to protect myself. But, always approach any offer online with skepticism as you all have displayed here. As I said, things may change with GWW in the weeks, months ahead. But, for right now, at least, I am $15.00 richer.

  6. December 7, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    I have just read this post – thanks for discussing our program. Indeed we are legit, and by the time any of you read this, I am quite sure David got his next payment (as we are already in December).

    We work very hard to be a quality program, which offers much value to writers. We are still running in beta and improving our website, systems, and methods.

    If anyone is interested in joining our program, you are free to apply using the form in our website (http://www.giftedwebwriters.com). If you qualify, you are sure to enjoy your relationship with us and your further development as a writer. Of course, we are more than happy to address any further questions you may have (see the contact us form in the website).

    • 8 Damien
      December 7, 2009 at 11:44 pm

      Gil, thanks for the comment. It’s refreshing to see someone from Gifted Web Writers standing over the service. I had noticed that the website is up and running now, and I am now more certain that you are a legitimate operation.

      Still, you must be able to see how it appeared dodgy from my perspective.

  7. April 7, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    I’m a fellow WP blogger on the web searching for more participant info on this organization too. Thanks for what is here. Anything more since?


Leave a Reply

