27
Oct
09

Spam…from friends

Can someone of a technically-minded nature explain this to me, as it’s beyond my capacities? Yesterday evening I received an email from a girl I knew in college. “Fabulous,” I thought, as I hadn’t heard from her in a while. This is a girl I always had a lot of time for, and I was interested to hear what she’s up to. However, the body of the email was a little weird.

Dear friend,
I am willing to give you a big surprise. I found
a website:  [I removed the link] last week. They mainly sell phones ,
laptops, tvs ,digital cameras and motorbikes. I ordered a tv . now I
have got the product after 5 days. Its quality is very good.
By the
way, they only sell new and original products and their products have
international warranty. Now , they are promoting their products, so
the prices are very competitives. If you need these products, you can
have a look. Don not miss the good chance !
Best wishes!

Clearly it’s spam. Even without the meaningless HTML symbols, I can’t imagine any situation where a girl I haven’t seen in a while would open an email with “I am willing to give you a big surprise”. I checked the website out, and it appears to be some Chinese operation. There were a few bugs. The layout wasn’t bad, but it could be better. I could be legit, but I’m not going to buy anything from it.

This might make be seem foolish, maybe this is a common problem, but I’ve never encountered this before. Is it possible for bots to send spam from legitimate email addresses?

EDIT: This is amazing. I’m now getting Facebook messages from someone I know claiming to be a “cool video”, but is actually a trojan download. What is this?

2 Responses to “Spam…from friends”


  1. October 27, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    I got a Dear Friend email from someone I know recently, the email only contained “Dear Friend” in the body for some reason. It was sent to everyone in his gmail address book. I thought he was taking the piss so I sent him back an angry email complaining about how he should have CC’d all the email addresses if he wanted to act the micky. He replied saying he knew nothing about it but got one himself off a friend a week earlier. It’s all a bit spooky.

  2. October 27, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Yes its possible, spoofing an e-mail address is fairly easy. I’ve even been getting spam apparently sent by me for a while too.


Leave a Reply

