11
Sep
09

Sorry, just kidding. LOL

Do you remember as a kid when an uncle or some non-authoritative adult figure might be giving you a spin someplace? You’d approach the car only for him to pull away suddenly. You’d whine for a bit and he’d promise not to do it again. He probably meant it, but when you’d reach the car again temptation would prove too much, and the foot would fall on the accelerator once more. Hilarious stuff.

The interview I mentioned at the end of this post went quite well. I wasn’t getting my hopes up, but I figured I had a chance. At around 8:00 this morning I got a call from the rep who had arranged the interview telling me I am to be offered the job. Big news! I immediately began contemplating everything this would entail. It requires a move. Indeed, a move to another country, but this was the primary reason I was interested in the position. I wondered too about this blog, and how I’d continued now that I’m working proper. That seems quite pathetic now, but what can I say?

About an hour later I decided to check my email, and found I’d received a message from the girl whom I’m to replace (one of the interviewers). She’s returning home and I was to discuss with her the contract and visa details and so forth. However, the content of the message was not what I’d been lead to expect.

Thanks so much for taking the time to do the interview I really appreciate it. I’m really sorry but unfortunatley we won’t be able to offer you the position.

As you can understand, I’m quite pissed about this. To be told my interview wasn’t successful would have been disappointing but nothing I’m not used to. To be told, however, that I am getting the job – only for that to be taken back – is downright infuriating. I’ve sent many emails this morning trying to find out where I stand, but so far nobody has gotten back to me.

Perhaps my judgement is clouded as I’m still quite angry, but right now I’m certain this is the worst thing that anyone has ever done to me.

1 Response to “Sorry, just kidding. LOL”


  1. September 11, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Fingers crossed it was a case of mixed signals and you were incorrectly sent a standard rejection letter.

    If not, then someone deserves a good kick up the arse.


Leave a Reply

