18
Jun
09

Selling out is hard to do

I got my first request for advertising space on this blog yesterday. I’ve often been asked to promote some old nonsense somebody got into their heads (remember this), but this was the first time I was asked to link to a business website in return for material benefit.

via bighollywood.breitbart.com

via bighollywood.breitbart.com

I declined. The idea just seemed too odd to me. The company in question is a sports accessory website, and anyone who knows me knows I’m a proud geek. I hold sports in the same regard I hold casual racism. This aside, I have to admit I wasn’t too impressed with what I was being offered for selling out. Without going into details, I was directed to two product lists and told I could have one item for free on the understanding I would review it and provide a link in my blogroll. Now these items are hardly worthless. To somebody in the market this might have been a great offer, but to me they are of no use whatsoever.

It did, however, get me to wondering how fast I’d sell out if I were offered something I am interested in. Being a Bill Hicks fanboy, I’m always pissed off by celebrities endorsing products. When it comes to writers it’s almost unforgivable (who the fuck does Marian Keyes think she is doing ads for a photo shop). On the other hand, it’s just a blog. As much as I enjoy doing this, it’s hardly a sacred bastion of the legitimate arts. In reality, what’s the harm in it?

If anyone would like to further test my integrity I can be found at damien.foley1@gmail.com.

0 Responses to “Selling out is hard to do”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

