18
May
09

Vote for me, I’m not Fahey

I got a tremendous shock upon a trip to Galway on the weekend. As I stared out the rain-soaked bus window I noticed a campaign poster that seemed to be for Frank Fahey. “What the hey!” I though. “He’s a TD. Why is he campaigning now?” This shock was made much worse when I saw the same poster a few yards later and noticed it had the Fina Gael logo on it. I’ve had a few dealings with Fahey in the past, and I’m sure anyone who knows him will agree he’s possibly the purest example of a Fianna Fáil true believer. Even when he lost his job as Junior Minister in the Justice Department, he could be found repeating the party lines and pontificating on the brilliance of Bertie.

As it turns out, the Frank in question was not the Frank. Rather, he’s Frank Fahy, a true-blue Fine Gael man who’s running in the Galway local elections. He just happens to have a similar name and comes from the same area as the FF scourge of Irish fishermen. Of course the physical similarities between the two men are marginal, and I can only explain my confusion as the product of impaired vision caused by the shitty weather over the weekend.

The incident got me wondering about the condition of our current government. Are they that unpopular that it’s at least plausible that the likes of Fahey might have jumped ship? It could hardly be surprising. I mean, as well as refusing to admit that their laissez-faire policies and over-reliance on doomed markets have exacerbated this recession, we lately have Conor Lenihan et al suggesting that the dramatic drop in support for the government is a result of the tough decisions they’re having to face. They’re effectively saying their unpopularity is our problem because we can’t stomach their bravery. In my opinion, it’s this siege mentality that’s infuriating people, and the reason they’re likely going to be slaughtered in the upcoming elections.

Frank Fahy (the FG one) clearly recognises this. Check out this piece from the Galway Advertiser, basically declaring: “I’m not Fahey. Don’t fuck me over by confusing me with FF.” These elections are going to be so disastrous for Fianna Fáil that there’s a fear they’ll also be bad for people who vaguely resemble Fianna Fáillers

1 Response to “Vote for me, I’m not Fahey”


  1. July 13, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Oh I get it. Thanks for explaining that. That seems pretty well.


Leave a Reply

