27
Apr
09

If you don’t like this post, please ignore it

Like many others in the Irish blogosphere, I received an e-mail today from a crowd calling themselves Reclaim Ireland. They’re seeking some publicity for their cause (something about the government being too focused on private gain) and asking us to publicise their website for them.

I have received similar requests in the past, and though I usually don’t respond I can at least appreciate that I was contacted personally. This one’s different as it’s the same blanket e-mail sent to several bloggers. Now it is flattering to be included on this list of the country’s most prolific bloggers, but spam is spam. I would have simply deleted it and forgotten it forever, but I was further annoyed by this tid-bit: “If you think the idea completely ridiculous, please ignore this email.”

As it happens, I don’t think the idea is ridiculous, but only because I can’t figure out exactly what the idea is (there is some talk on overthrowing the Government, but nothing on how exactly we go about it). What I resented was the attempt to influence editorial control of my blog. If I think it’s a ridiculous idea, I’ll ignore nothing. If I want I’ll bloody well say so.

This e-mail exemplifies the problem with the bulk of online commenters that has been spawned by the recession. They are utterly convinced of the responsibility of the government and the failures of the established political system (the subject of the e-mail was even “revolution”), yet they have such little faith in their alternative that they can’t bear to see it criticised. A solid political argument thrives on dissent, not pleas to be ignored. Alan Moloney posted something on this a while back.

I hate to sound so negative, and I realise cynicism is the easiest response, but I’m really annoyed by all this lazy “fuck the government” talk lately. I’m as angry as anyone, and I’m perfectly willing to listen to a real alternative. Until you figure out what that is, don’t let the door hit you or your revolution on the way out.

4 Responses to “If you don’t like this post, please ignore it”


  1. April 27, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    The idea basically adds up to this.

    Us + revolution= uhhh…uhh… success?

    I read this every fucking day. “There should be a revolution man, yeah, we should rise up, man.” Then anytime I suggest they run for office in the upcoming elections it becomes “fuck that”.

    I’m no Fianna Fail supporter, not by any means, but I’d prefer FF over arm chair e-revolutionaries any day of the week.

  2. April 28, 2009 at 7:46 am

    I assume you meant to say “A solid political argument thrives on dissent.

    yours in subediting mode,
    G Cunningham

  3. April 28, 2009 at 11:00 am

    you headline brings me to Beyonce..

    Thank you for saving me having to post about this crew, reform.ie, united minds etc. etc. etc

  4. 4 The Unemployed Blog
    April 28, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Alan, you are exactly right. These guys moan about apathy, yet they seem to think political activity extends to reading Hotpress and pontificating online.

    Gerard, I did indeed mean dissent, and I’ve duly edited (I’m afraid subbing is one of my poorer skills, as a quick glance over my previous posts will testify). Obviously no solid political argument thrives on a downward motion.

    Suzy, I’m glad to be of service. It needed doing. And I’m also glad to bring you to Beyonce (though I don’t quite understand what that means).


Leave a Reply

