11
Feb
09

Mo money mo problems…

This morning I received a phone call from the Irish Examiner telling me they ran a piece of mine a few weeks back and I must set up an account in order for them to pay me. Confused, I declared that they’ve already paid me. “Really,” responded the bloke, “you name’s not on my list. Are you sure it wasn’t somebody else that paid you?” This was, in fact, exactly the mistake I was making. Seemingly suffering from a brief, highly specific level of amnesia, I forgot a distinction between the words “examiner” and “independent”. Of course I only realised this after the fact. Rather cheekily, I said to the guy on the phone, “if you want to pay me again go right ahead.”

Anyway, it was a nice surprise. I’d missed the piece when it ran so it was nice of them to chase me down to pay me. I’m sure whatever money I’ll get will be so tiny it almost won’t be worth the bother. But sure, it’s better than a kick from a horse, as they say.

1 Response to “Mo money mo problems…”


  1. 1 icantfindajob
    February 15, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Hey, every little bit counts when you’re unemployed!

    Good luck with the job search, we’re in the same boat.


Leave a Reply

