20
Jan
09

Do they annoy people just for fun?

The social welfare office has been dicking me around again. When I went to collect the dole today the lady in the post office told me there’s no money there for me. So off I goes to the office to see what’s what.

Apparently there was some complication with my file during the week. They lost some letter they were supposed to have, but this wasn’t a major issue, they said, the money was sent out. “Well, tell that to the girl in the post office,” says I. “No, you don’t understand,” replies the woman (who I must admit was quite nice about it), “it’s been sent to a different post office.

So, for no real reason and without feeling the need to tell me, these guy saw fit to send my payment to a different post office. I mean, why? Do they do these things for a laugh? Maybe they think I need the exercise. God knows what part of north Dublin my payment will be in next week.

3 Responses to “Do they annoy people just for fun?”


  1. January 20, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    That sounds pretty ridiculous, hope you get it sorted. I thought that you had to nominate which post office you’d collect it from? I know I did when I signed on last year, they asked me which post office I’d prefer.

  2. January 22, 2009 at 1:14 am

    Arrrrgh Classic social welfare trick used to make one make contact with Social Welfare by phone or visit to answer some bloody question. And sometimes when arranging the tour of Dublin city post offices for one to track down payment they change day not taking into account you may not have your busfare or enough for food until payment appears. I remember one day years ago being told my signing (and therefore payment day) was changing – no amount of me explaining that this was going to mean great stress with little warning to my budget would make civil servant understand.

    /rant

  3. January 28, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Hmmm… about four and a half years ago I signed on for the first time in a while. Despite the relative lack of business I found them pretty indifferent and off-putting. Certainly far from supportive. From what you’re saying they’re getting worse…


Leave a Reply

