07
Jan
09

So Bev was kicked out of Fianna Fail and this was somehow the taxpayer’s fault: UPDATED

My dole payment today was significantly less than usual. This is because I told the social welfare office that I’d been working over Christmas serving people I hate in an environment that suggests Marx was right. Actually, I didn’t have the nerve to mention the Marx stuff. I just told them I’d been working so my payments should be docked accordingly. I’m pretty sure I would have gotten away with it, but I figured I was better off being honest. The apprehension about getting caught would have been just too annoying, and I was starting to feel guilty every time I heard Cowan or Lenihan utter the words “significant exchequer shortfalls”.

It is exactly this reason that I’m in a boiling rage over Cooper-Flynn and her latest bullshit. She’s claiming a €41,000 annual benefit offered to independent TDs, even thought she’s a fully fledged Fianna Fail member. She can apparently do this because she was an independent when elected, having only rejoined the republican party’s ranks in 2008. The law clearly states that she’s still entitled to the money. So a loophole it be, like the kind she was good at finding when she was at National Irish Bank.

As of now, Cooper Flynn “earns” a €106,581 salary, as well as the numerous expences that TDs can avail of. On top of this she is somehow entitled to a tax-free €41,000 every year until the Dail ends in 2012 (or perhaps sooner than that, if this kind shit continues) for being something she actually isn’t. This is exactly the kind of doublethink that Orwell warned us about.

So what’s Flynn’s justification for this. According to The Irish Times, she told Midwest Radio, “prior to the last election I was elected as a Fianna Fáil TD. I found myself outside Fianna Fáil after the first year and spent the following four years as an Independent. In that particular case I did not receive the Independent allowance despite the fact that I did not have the support of the party structure and had the additional expenses that all Independent deputies have.” This might seem fair enough, except that during those years the country wasn’t facing a recession (which, incidentally, her party let happen) and the government wasn’t demanding cutbacks in every aspect of public spending.

Later this year the government will try to convince us to say yes to something we already rejected. This is a government that is already far more unpopular than it was during the last Lisbon referendum, due largely to the economy. And yet this woman is still banging on about what she’s “entitled” to. Of course we really shouldn’t expect Cooper-Flynn to be concerned with bigger pictures. She, like her similarly scummy father, is an old breed of Fianna Failer, in it for what they can get out of it. Let us not forget why she was expelled from the party in the first place. Now, when you think about it, she actually expects us to pay for this

It takes a particular nasty streak of greed to be Beverly Cooper-Flynn. I’m sorry to sound like an Evening Herald headline but it just so happans that occasionally they’re right. I could give you other examples of her greed related to me by my Mayo sources, but unlike RTE I can’t prove these and she would probably be successful in her libal claim against me. Nonetheless, she is clearly a self-interested bitch who’s only damaging her party and her govenment by being a part of it. The only way Fianna Fail can fix this one is if they once again make Bev a legitimate recipient of an independent TD’s allowance.

EDIT:
She finally buckled. I suppose it was inevitable, really. Still, I can’t help but wonder what it was that did it. I mean, yesterday she was adamant she was entitled to the allowance. Yet today, after a wee word with Cowen, she’s giving it up. What exactly did he say? Somehow, I doubt the word “please” was involved.

Apparantly she was “deeply hurt by some of the media comments that portrayed her as being dishonest”. I don’t doubt it. No matter how dishonest these fuckers really are, they still seem to expect universal awe for some reason. I know it’s unlikely, but I really, really hope that my post was one of the media comments that upset her so. Bitch!

I also had to laugh at the “used to benefit my constituents” remark, How exactly? Did she run around Mayo giving away the money to strangers? One must assume they’re the ones losing out now that the money is gone. No point in worrying about it too much though. It’s just more doublethink.

3 Responses to “So Bev was kicked out of Fianna Fail and this was somehow the taxpayer’s fault: UPDATED”


  1. January 7, 2009 at 11:50 am

    There is something about public life that will always attract odious toads that leave their slime on everything that they touch. How people come to vote for them is beyond me, but, then again, there is a lot about how Irish politics works that falls into that bracket for me…

    The real issue, as you touch upon at the end, is what Fianna Fail are prepared to do in this instance. They are the main party of government, we have a lot of tunnel to get through before we start to see some economic light again, and this is a matter where the only correct and principled course of action is for Fianna Fail to require that this money not be claimed or they show this deputy the door. Again.

    Also, when are these provisions now getting updated? I have a few suggestions of my own for TDs’ allowances when they do!

  2. 2 Brian
    January 8, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Hi. I just fell across your blog this morning, sitting here in steamy Brisbane, and I’d just like to say how much I enjoyed your piece.

    Political dynasties always seem to lead to some sort of a sense of entitlement in the offspring. I guess it is just another case of “like father, like daughter”. To my mind, such as it is, the real culprits here are the electors of Mayo. It is not as if they didn’t already have the experience of her father.

    I wonder what all of those people who fought and died for Irish freedom over the centuries think of it all – and I’m not particularly republican. Did they up their lives so that a bunch of greedy pigs from the allegedly “republican” party could get their snouts into the trough? Apparently so.

    Anyway, you may be unemployed, but you are doing good work. Keep it up.

    Cheers,

    Brian


Leave a Reply

