21
Nov
08

The first post

The following is a quick ramble on the point of this blog. I recall reading a comic strip in Viz years ago titled “The comic strip character with no attribute”. Basically, as the title suggest, this strip was about a guy (his name has long ago been beaten out of my brain) without the standard anomaly in his personality that normally warrants a comic strip. He wasn’t desperate and he wasn’t a menace. He had no penchant for dodging unsavoury scenarios and he didn’t whizz about at abnormal speeds. His strips dealt with such events as waiting for the bus or queuing at the post office. If someone asked him for a peculiar favour, no misadventures would ensue (It’s possible that I’m misremembering the point of the strip. It seems there must have been more to in than that. Nonetheless, there certainly existed such a character and I’m sure I found it funny that nothing funny happened to him).

This perfectly reflects the purpose of this blog. Having spent exactly seven of the glorious Celtic tiger years toiling at various stages of third-level education, I graduated this year only to be told: “Sorry, we’re having a recession now. Didn’t you get the memo?” I have garnered an impressive collection of certificates and degrees, and I have nothing to do with them. For a while it seemed like I had my foot in the door of my chosen profession. I moved to Dublin and regularly contributed to a major national newspaper. Then nothing! The worked dried up, the pay cheques stopped coming, and I suddenly found myself joining my Finglas neighbours on the dole queues.

This is why I started this blog. Like the poorly recalled Viz character, I have nothing to do other than write about having nothing to do. So I created a blog that has no point other than be a blog.

So that about accounts for it. I’m not yet sure what form this will take. I’m not even sure if I’m doing because I have something to say or if it’s just to keep me sane. In blogging as in life, we’ll see what happens

Peace out, Damien.

1 Response to “The first post”


  1. November 24, 2008 at 5:31 am

    Unemployment…it’s rough. We are all struggling. Keep blogging it will help!


Leave a Reply

